Quality Score - What Is It and Why Is It Important?
Quality score is a number from 1 to 10 used in Google AdWords. It's used to determine how relevant a keyword is to the campaign and ad group that it's running in. The higher the QS, the more relevant that keyword is to its campaign or ad group.
Is a low quality score something to worry about?
That depends on how much money you want to spend in AdWords. Basically, the higher the QS, the lower you pay per click, and vice-versa.
For example: if you were bidding on the keyword "weight loss". The average CPC is $2.75 and it gets about 2 million searches per month.
Let's say you're selling or affiliating a weight loss product that makes $40 profit per sale with a conversion rate of 5%. You're going to need, on average, 20 visitors (or clicks) to your website to make a sale. 100 visitors will make on average 5 sales.
The problem is; at $2.75 per click, 20 clicks will cost you $55 from AdWords. Which is a loss of $15 per sale ($40 - $55 = -$15). The break-even point for this product would be $2 per click. So to be making a profit you'll need be getting clicks for less than $2. But how?
By improving your AdWords QS you can get clicks at a much cheaper price than the competition. With a QS of 10/10 you might only be paying $0.20 per click or less! That would mean it costs you just $20 for 100 clicks. Which would result in 5 sales, which is $200. Minus the $20 spent on advertising and you're looking at $180 profit!
So how do you increase that all important AdWords quality score?
In tomorrows blog post I'll explain exactly how to increase your QS and get clicks for as little as $0.05 per click!
Until tomorrow, take care
Simon

roman (2 Comments)
Thursday, December 10, 2009 2:09 PM